We have power with Single Member Districts

Keep your power—join our list!

Don’t let the Commissioners persuade you to dump Single Member Districts!

2018: 60 percent of voters in all five voting districts endorsed electing Commissioners by Single-Member District (SMD).  

  • Republicans, Democrats, and Independents voted for direct accountability at the District level.

  • 19 Florida counties elect their Commissioners by SMD.

  • The Florida Legislature and US Congress are elected by SMD. 

2020: Candidates from both parties ran for County Commission in Districts 1, 3, and 5.  In 2022, Districts 2 and 4 will elect Commissioners.

2020-2021: Directly following the November 2020 election, the County Commission publicly questioned the voters’ choice of Single Member Districts, saying that the ballot language was confusing.

Here’s the ballot language we voted to approve.  Who’s confused in fact: Us or them?

Will they call for a "special election" to overturn what we voted for?

Take our important survey!

We need to keep what we voted for.


Can you help?  Would you like to receive occasional updates on Single Member Districts?

Single Member Districts are crucial to our future. Sarasota County is growing -- its population is already too large for all commissioners to be up to speed with every community. With SMD, each district will have a commissioner to address concerns in our neighborhoods, while responding to the public interests of the entire county.

final group.jpg

19 Florida Counties use Single Member Districts (SMD) (or variations of): Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Calhoun, Collier, Columbia, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Hamilton, Hendry, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Miami-Dade, Palm Beach, Taylor, Union. 

Help meet the challenge to SMD—Join our list!

Thanks for submitting!

Knowledge + Action = Power


This site will update you on Single Member Districts leading up to and through the 2022 elections in Districts 2 and 4.


Citizens for District Power speakers are available to attend your organization or homeowners' meeting.  Connect with us today to get on our speakers schedule.  Email your request to: citizens4districtpower@gmail.com